PHP and Fusion

Discussion and Questions about PHP.
Mikey
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:43 am

PHP and Fusion

Postby Mikey » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:16 am

Newbie question, so forgive me if it's a bit dim...

I've been using NOF for ages, I've got ver 7 and have just downloaded the trial version of v10 because I want to do some dynamic database stuff with as little aggro as possible.

So I have been playing with the DB-PHP tools in ver 10, and they look as though they might be very handy, but I can't find any info about them at all in the help files.

So, questions:

1) Is there any meaningful help for these tools ?
2) Is there a better way of implementing PHP in Fusion 10 or 11 ?

Any advice gratefully received

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1303
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:07 am
Location: Stuart, FL
Contact:

Re: PHP and Fusion

Postby admin » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:50 am

Newbie question, so forgive me if it's a bit dim...

I've been using NOF for ages, I've got ver 7 and have just downloaded the trial version of v10 because I want to do some dynamic database stuff with as little aggro as possible.

So I have been playing with the DB-PHP tools in ver 10, and they look as though they might be very handy, but I can't find any info about them at all in the help files.

So, questions:

1) Is there any meaningful help for these tools ?
2) Is there a better way of implementing PHP in Fusion 10 or 11 ?

Any advice gratefully received
The DB Components are indeed documented in the PDF manual that comes with Fusion 10 and 11.

In the Help file, look in the Index for "Adding Dynamic Content from a Database".

I do all of my PHP and MySQL in Fusion without using the DB Components.

If you know nothing about PHP/MySQL, the DB components are a bit intimidating and can be hard to get you head around.

If you know PHP/MySQL, they get in the way and are very limiting.

Somewhere in between, people find them very useful for adding database functionality to a site in Fusion.

If you look on the Beyond Fusion Resources page, you'll find a link to some tutorials I have for using PHP/MySQL manually with Fusion.

Chuck

Mikey
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:43 am

Re: PHP and Fusion

Postby Mikey » Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:37 am

Chuck, thanks for your help and advice.

Although the DB-PHP tools are very attractive, I fear I have already outgrown them. So I'm going to do PHP manually and suffer the learning curve that goes with it.

Thanks again, keep up the good work !

Mike

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1303
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:07 am
Location: Stuart, FL
Contact:

Re: PHP and Fusion

Postby admin » Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:50 am

Chuck, thanks for your help and advice.

Although the DB-PHP tools are very attractive, I fear I have already outgrown them. So I'm going to do PHP manually and suffer the learning curve that goes with it.

Thanks again, keep up the good work !

Mike
Sounds like a plan.

You should consider upgrading to Fusion 11.

The available locations for code additions have grown since Fusion 7.

Makes it easier to place code in the proper locations.

Never add code in Code View. Always use the locations in Design View.

Chuck


Return to “PHP Q&A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron